Luck favors the prepared.

I want to share an observation that I fear is going to be too woo-woo. Too law-of-attraction. Too build-it-and-they-will-come. Which I so don’t want to encourage or promote because we all know there is more to life and business than that.

But, once again, there it is.

I worked out better systems and policies and procedures for a particular element of my business. I have answers to questions. I got organized. I am now clear on what I’m doing and how I’m doing it – and can communicate that.

And suddenly, without promoting it at all, there is flow where there was not flow before.

Huh.

This has happened before. I know this to be a reliable thing. Yet I don’t know if I’ll ever stop feeling pleasantly surprised by it.

In my head, I remember Cheryl Richardson explaining this phenomena in Take Time for Your Life this way: When you show the universe you’re ready, it will give you more.

Funny, when I look up the quote, it’s actually:

Abundance flows when you trust yourself enough to handle it.

It’s really hard to trust yourself to handle things without some systems. Without getting a little organized. Without being clear about what you are doing and how you are doing it.

I know developing systems isn’t as much fun as your creative work (right beside you, there). But rivers really do need riverbanks in order to flow properly.

So, I invite you – challenge you – to try this for yourself. Pick one small part of your business where you want more flow and tidy it up. Get organized and clear with it – and see what happens. See if luck really does favor the prepared.* Then come back here and tell us about it.

* This is more fun to think about if you picture Edna ‘E’ Mode, super-suit designer to The Incredibles, saying it. Luck favors the prepared, dahlink. (Remember: no capes!)
8 Responses to “Luck favors the prepared.”


  1. 1 Julie December 1, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    “It has totally confiscated my life, dahlink, as only hero work can.”

    I haven’t thought about the rivers and river banks like this before, but I’m going to poke around at my own systems and see what can be tidied. Thanks!

  2. 3 jenniferhofmann December 2, 2009 at 9:43 am

    Well said, as usual, Cairene!

    This year, I created order in my finances (spreadsheets, cash flow projections, etc.) and more money came in. When I created/wrote systems for work with 1-on-1 clients, better-fitting awesome clients came in.

    At the moment, I’m making room (system-wise) for greater capacity in my business. Why? No, not world domination. :) I just want there to be room for anyone who wants to be a part of my biz.

    So, that’s what I’m working on. I look forward to what 2010 brings as a result.

  3. 5 Christine Martell December 2, 2009 at 10:43 am

    We are in sync. I just posted this painting today….. just what you are talking about. See I’m getting it!
    http://visualsspeak.zenfolio.com/p422589343/e364e6b2a

  4. 7 Pauline Esson December 3, 2009 at 6:37 am

    Cairene,

    It’s the way you tell it! (say that in an Irish accent).

    You could pluck some/any obscure theory or concept from anywhere (and the land of law of attraction is tame in the scheme of things), churn it through the ‘Cairene makes practical sense of this’ churner and out it would come….

    A practical, perfectly illustrated version that has everyone (well I can speak for me and am taking liberties with the everyone…but how could it not be so) nodding appreciatively and in agreement and feeling wiser and sagier for the application in their own lives.

    I crown you
    Cairene, the maker of sages out of anyone who cares to listen, queen.

    And for my own sortings out, I’m writing policies, some to be published on my new website, some just so I’m clear about how and when I see clients and what for and how much it costs ….quite the overhaul going on behind the scenes. It feels different inside myself just declaring them to my office so I’m looking forward to the launch by the end of January.

    Oh and an ovation for you……more…..more…….

    • 8 Cairene December 3, 2009 at 9:40 am

      @Pauline –
      This comment is delightful six ways from Sunday. Thanks for bringing such a big smile to my face this morning.
      Very curious how the difference inside will be mirrored in differences outside…
      oxo C


Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

