The Last Word On Philosphy

So, I was flipping through my copy of Anna Deavere Smith’s book Letters to a Young Artist (one of my all-time favorites – highly recommended), looking for something else (and not finding it), when I came across the chapter entitled “Art and Reality.”

Smith says, “I think of art as work, so I worry about going off into the stratosphere with theoretical questions like, ‘What is art? What is truth?’ … If we get caught up in pondering these questions, we sell ourselves short. How we live, and how we treat one another, is what is at issue.

“Years ago I studied at a conservatory in San Francisco. … Many of my classmates loved to talk and ponder (on themes like ‘art and reality’). But I didn’t see it improving their acting. … I began to think that…talking about acting was like thinking about swimming. I could sit on the end of the lap lane and ponder swimming, or I could jump in and day after day increase my stamina.”

She’s right. It’s about doing the work.

I promised myself that I would take a sabbatical from my mind this year, and focus much more on doing and feeling, and much less on thinking. And the moment I brought up Plato, I start thinking too much! ;P

So no more philosophy. I promise. Now, back to work!

0 Responses to “The Last Word On Philosphy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

