Heartstorming

thw-blog-sign.jpg Seen in the neighborhood…

Happy Valentine’s Day! Yes, it can be a contrived holiday full of clichés, but it’s still nice to honor love – romantic and otherwise – at least once a year.

Last fall, I participated in the Working Artists’ Guerilla Exhibitor course. Most students struggle with less with what they want to do and more with how they plan to do it. It’s not art but business, not desire but strategy, not heart but mind that is the challenge. Me, I was the opposite. I can get organized with one hand tied behind my back. But I’ve historically been less skilled at choosing genuinely satisfying projects worthy of Planner Girl’s powers (can you see me swooshing in with my cape of file folders and 3-ring binders?).

Now, Adrienne (the course’s intrepid leader) promises to get you unstuck. And I was. I was dislodged. Right out of my head and into my heart. But for awhile that left me feeling powerless, like Planner Girl on kryptonite. And brainstorming wasn’t helping me to move in the direction I wanted to go. So Adrienne brilliantly suggested that I heartstorm instead. It’s proven to be a much more successful technique. And the more I practice it, the easier it is for me to find authentic ways to be in business that are much more joyful and much less of a struggle.

Your relationship with your your work should be a love affair. What are you giving your business for Valentine’s to show your care and appreciation?

0 Responses to “Heartstorming”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

