Rewriting the Rulebook

Today is one of those days I’m grateful I keep a flexible schedule. I’m beat – I woke up tired – and so I am glad I can trade simple activities for complex ones until I can ingest enough coffee to tackle something big ;P

Okay, seriously, I try not to abuse coffee that way – it’s not good for my health. And neither is fighting my body. If I’m tired, my body needs something I’m not giving it and I’ve learned its prudent to pay attention to that, rather than trying to assert mind over matter. Sooner or later, that will make me sick – then never mind doing even the simple activities…

This is one of the outdated beliefs I’ve had to erase from my rulebook – that taking care of myself makes me a lazy worker.

* * * * * * * * * *

What’s in your rulebook that doesn’t belong there? What beliefs have you outgrown? What worn-out assumptions no longer serve you well? And what have you replaced them with?

Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

