Anthropomorphism

noun: an interpretation of what is not human or personal in terms of human or personal characteristics

About a year ago, while mindlessly clicking through television channels I landed on one of those specials that public television broadcasts during fund drives [I can’t believe this is the second time I’ve mentioned one in a week] featuring Suze Orman. I’m not a huge fan, but there’s no denying she knows her stuff and I was drawn into the Q&A portion of the program I had stumbled upon. A woman had asked how to keep the work of managing her finances from feeling like a second job. I don’t recall all that Ms. Orman said in response, or even her exact words, but this is what I remember about her answer: If you treated another human being the way you treat your money, he or she wouldn’t want to be in your life either. [ Leave me alone. I don’t want to deal with you right now. You never do enough for me. What aren’t you around more often? Can you imagine sticking around for that?! ] She was asserting, in other words, that you have to pay attention to your money, take care of it, and treat it with respect in order to have a good relationship with it. And you can’t build wealth if you don’t have a good relationship with your money.

Well, that little nugget changed my life and helped me heal what had become a very unhealthy relationship with my money. [thanks Suze]

She basically advocated anthropomorphism. Which is just a little mental trick, a metaphor, a construct, a conceit – but who cares? It works. It worked so well that I’ve since applied it to other areas of my life: my business, my muse, even my health (which may not make sense at first until you remember how we objectify our bodies in this culture).

Anytime I can alter a task from a mundane item on my to-do list to an act of cultivating a relationship – one that will take care of me as well as I take care of it – the work completely changes, as does the outcome. I am more willing and enthusiastic to do the work, I give priority to and focus on the right work, and that shift in mindset consistently changes results for the better.

I often hear people say they believe in the interconnectedness of everything, but how often do we really embrace that? It’s not just about building, but seeing the relationships between all the elements of our lives.

* * * * * * * * * *

Do you see yourself as in a relationship with your business? If so, how do you take care of that relationship? If not, do you feel it’s better to keep it objective rather than personal?

0 Responses to “Anthropomorphism”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

