Splurge or Investment?

I picked up my new business cards from the printer yesterday, along with some postcards for the workshops. I was surprised how excited I was to get the call that they were ready and I left right away even though they were closing within the hour. There was not going to be any waiting around until this morning to pick them up.

The cards turned out well – although I keep wondering how long I will be happy with them, how long it will be before the designer in me comes up with a better layout idea or the writer in me comes up with better copy. Oh well, there will be another printing someday…

So now I have pretty cards to give to people. It’s been a long time since I’ve treated myself to such professional promotional materials – in part because I’ve not needed much printed material in a “virtual” marketplace and in part because up until now I’ve been able to get away with a sort of DIY approach. But at this point in my business, with this current venture, it has become clear that just won’t be sufficient. So I splurged.

No, wait, I invested. There is a need, I’ve met that need – and by doing so, I expect to get a return on what I’ve invested in meeting that need. I thought the need was just to communicate a certain level of professionalism to others, but I’m remembering now that I have the cards in hand that I also need to perceive myself at that same level. Funny how I can feel so validated by a little piece of paper with my name on it.

In less than 24 hours, I already have a return on my investment.

* * * * * * * * * *

How do you determine the difference between a foolish splurge and a wise investment in your business? Get too cheap and you and your business are starved for the tools you need… Get too frivolous and you and your business end up starved for cash or trapped by debt… So, how do you decide?

0 Responses to “Splurge or Investment?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

