Chaos In Drag

I was all over the place yesterday morning. I mean, could not focus. Distracted by one bright shiny object after another.

It was exhausting. And dissatisfying.

I’m all for seizing the moment and embracing my muse when she comes to visit, but sometimes… sometimes it’s not really her. Sometimes it’s chaos in drag.

And I knew I had to give my mind a rest, occupy it with stuff pretty much the opposite of creative productivity. So I did my bookkeeping and cleared my in-box.

And it worked. Rather than boring me half to sleep, it calmed me down (and I had something concrete to show for it when I was done – always a plus). Now that I’ve spent time focused on more mundane matters, I find I can look at the bright shiny objects with more objectivity without being overwhelmed.

Sometimes you just need to take a break. And some days that means getting up from your desk and getting out for a walk or coffee with a friend.

But some days that just means radically shifting your tasks.

0 Responses to “Chaos In Drag”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

