Prove It

You know how when you are ready to understand something, you suddenly see it everywhere?

From Merlin Mann to Timothy Ferris – all the sudden I’m really getting how much it matters what you give your attention to.  It’s not new information.  Steven Covey has been after us for two decades to focus on the important over the urgent.  Even the “law of attraction” folks behind The Secret will remind you that what you give your attention to is what will grow.

I’ve been going through a bit of a rebellious maverick phase lately – as in, “Thanks, but I do not care for the standard options. I’d rather succeed doing it my way.”  That ambition is all well and good, but it strikes me that unless you’re a rebel with a cause, it doesn’t mean very much.

I do believe people can succeed on their own terms, but lately I’ve felt the urge to prove it to myself in my own life in a BIG way.  Thus my recent nearly religious interest in focused attention.

What would happen – how big could it get – if I gave my truly undivided, undiluted attention to achieving what I want? Am I really willing and ready to give up the fluff and distractions? To quit dithering?

Yes. Yes I am. Because I’m nearly dying of curiosity…

0 Responses to “Prove It”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

