Life or Death Decisions

Last weekend I watched, “Stress: Portrait of a Killer” – a PBS National Geographic documentary – with total fascination.

I came away with a bit of a crush on Robert Sapolsky. As an alternative model for success, he rocks. And you gotta love a neurobiologist who specializes in stress studies admitting:

The reality is I am unbelievably stressed and Type A and poorly coping. Why else would I study this stuff 80 hours a week? No doubt everything I advise is going to lose all its credibility if I keel over dead from a heart attack in my early 50s. I’m not good at dealing with stress. But one thing that works to my advantage is I love my work. I love every aspect of it.”

If you are not persuaded by the overwhelming evidence of the harmful effects of stress presented in this film to figure out your best place and purpose in the big scheme of things, I don’t know what will.

Turns out how we spend our days – what and who and how much we love – really can kill us or save us.

0 Responses to “Life or Death Decisions”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

