I’m All Ears

I could go on and on about the importance of self-care and the necessity of pacing yourself, so that whatever you do, you do it sustainably without depleting yourself.

But lately, I have done a poor job of engaging in self care.  Not because I am overwhelmed by external pressures and responsibilities.  But because I am so into what I’m creating and doing right now.  Maybe it’s a result of my recent commitment to clarity and focus, but my brain is on fire.  And there’s nothing I’d rather do than realize the ideas my mind is generating right now.  Which means things like daily exercise are being neglected in favor of more compelling activities.

Is this sustainable?  Am I confusing urgent and important?  Is spending most of my weekend on business and program development good self-care?  What about the need for sabbath, missy?

It’s been a long time since I enjoyed my work this much, since I was this excited about a professional endeavor.  So is giving myself this frequent experience of flow the best form of self-care I could engage in right now?  Should I revel in it for as long as it lasts?  I feel great now, but am I setting myself up for failure when I run out of the necessary steam to support my new ideas?

As I tell my clients, there’s no right or wrong way.  Just stay awake to your own experience.  As long as you’re listening, you’ll know what you need to do.

Okay, Self, I’m all ears…

* * * * * * * * * *

Follow up: Shortly after posting this, I came down with a cold that lasted at least four days… which was definitely an answer to my question.

0 Responses to “I’m All Ears”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

