Change Is Easy (Sometimes)

So I finally purchased and used a set of reuseable grocery bags.

It’s not like making the switch from disposable plastic is exactly rocket science, but it’s something that’s felt like more bother than it was worth.  At least until I spotted some cute, durable and completely affordable bags at Ikea. [Note: beauty does change behavior. I blame my delay in doing the right thing on those tacky bags the grocery stores sell made from that mystery fabric with their logos all over them.]

And it was easy.  It was easy to remember to bring them along to the store.  It was easy for the clerk to fill them.  It was way easier to bring the groceries into the house since I only had four bags instead of a dozen flimsy things to schlep.  I wondered why I had waited so long.

And I wonder what else in my business and my life seems like more bother than it’s worth to change, but would actually be simple and easy to do?

2 Responses to “Change Is Easy (Sometimes)”


  1. 1 gl. November 6, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    “I wonder what else in my business and my life seems like more bother than it’s worth to change, but would actually be simple and easy to do?”

    I think you answered your own question! When you discover a beautiful solution, it will make the doing easy. :)

  2. 2 Cairene November 8, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    @ gl. I *adore* you! Of course. It’s so obvious (and beautiful) when you point it out…


Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

