Introducing The “Business Manual” Category

If you’ve heard me talk about business operation manuals, you know I see them as “living documents.”  Meaning, they are always a work in progress – growing and evolving along with your business and the systems you use to keep it running smoothly.

Rather than tackle the whole thing at once (like you could complete the whole thing in an intense weekend even if you wanted to!), I highly recommend that you build it in very small steps, on a daily basis while you are working. This encourages you to actually use your manual, keeps the content relevant, and makes the whole project way more doable.

It occurred to me during my December hibernation, that the best way I could illustrate this was to share what I’m doing to expand and update my own manual each day.  And committing to blogging about it will help me to make sure I do work on it each day. Win-win for everyone.

So I invite you to follow along and share what you are doing to document your own business systems – what’s needed, what works, and so forth – and ask me questions along the way if you get stuck. Let’s learn together.

Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

