BOM – Day 3

This post is part of a series that began here. By sharing the daily development of my own business operations manual (BOM) I hope to illustrate how you might approach doing the same in your own business. Please follow along and share what you are doing to document your own systems and the challenges that come up along the way.

There’s not been a lot of action going on inside the manual, but one of the things a BOM is good for is this: if your systems and your structures don’t match, it will highlight that in a big, bright, yellow fluorescent marker kind of way.

So, what I have been working on is getting all my containers in sync.  Remember all those categorized tabs I generated? Well now I’m cleaning up my folders (for email and other digital files, as well as paper) and organizing info the same way.  My business has changed in the last year and my old way of sorting really isn’t working anymore – which is making it tricky to update my BOM, not to mention decide where to put things where I will find them again.

More importantly, I don’t want to confuse myself by sorting records in different ways in my email, on my computer, in my file cabinet, or in my BOM.  That is just not user-friendly.  Stuff relating to my blog, can’t be filed under “social media” someplace else – that’s just asking for crazy.  All corresponding containers need to  have the same name and hold the same kind of information.

1 Response to “BOM – Day 3”


  1. 1 JoVE January 13, 2009 at 11:41 am

    That is such an obvious point but I bet loads of us have different file names in different places. I was so proud of myself when I worked out a paper filing system that seems to work (well, I know longer have the towering “to be filed” pile on my desk, and haven’t for several years). But the files on the computer could maybe do with a clear out/reorg.


Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

