On Losing Power & Making Space for Good New Things

I had a forced Bite the Candy session yesterday.  The power was out for about an hour, which – unlike, say, losing my internet connection – meant I couldn’t keep working offline or throw in a load of wash or, well, do anything that required electricity.  Which in my world turns out to be not very much (troubling and worth exploring, but not my point today).

So I put things away. More specifically, I put away the stuff that’s been sitting on top of the little file cabinet next to my desk for, oh, I don’t know how long.

I put away the teetering stack of CDs.

I sorted through an old (as in: untouched for two years) client binder – which came down to emptying it and putting the contents through the shredder into the recycling bin.

And then the power returned.

I still have another binder to go, but (as usual) I was amazed by how much I got done in the space of a distraction-free hour.

That’s my first point: distraction-free.

My second point is this:
Not to get all coach-y on you, but when you eliminate tolerations you create the space for new things to come into your life.

And I am very close to having a clear space on which I can place the new all-in-one printer I’ve been ogling. And once I have that, I can get rid of the ancient fax, scanner and printer that are taking up more than their fair share of space in my office, so – more space for good new things!

This eliminating tolerations stuff totally works.

0 Responses to “On Losing Power & Making Space for Good New Things”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

