Lessons Learned #9 – It’s Better with Denzel

This post is part of a series that began here. By sharing my “lessons learned” I hope to illustrate the power of this daily practice of gentle self-observation. Please follow along and share your own.

I’m practicing honoring my morning writing time. Protecting it. Not frittering it away.

But it’s tricky.  Distractions are really, really seductive when you’re feeling a little nervous about engaging in some fearless, naked authenticity. (I should probably stop using the word naked – it’s giving the search engines the wrong idea).

For whatever reason, that nervousness came into sharp enough focus today that I could say to it, “I see you. But I’ve got some important work to do right now.”

I did what I set out to do for the allotted two hours – which I feel pretty darn good about considering how often the nervousness wanted me to stop and do other things. Sort of like my dog nudging me over and over again for an early walk.

I even managed to avoid getting all wordsmithy.

Whenever I’m trying to write plainly, I imagine Denzel Washington (as his character in Philadelphia) asking me in his most charismatic and compelling way to explain it to him like he’s a five year old.  That helps.

Fearless, naked authenticity is a lot more enjoyable when you have Denzel for company.

0 Responses to “Lessons Learned #9 – It’s Better with Denzel”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

