Hello, Old Friend

I’ve missed you, blog.  And I’ve missed you, dear readers.

A month ago, I was all into this blogging groove and then the business side of me decided we should tighten things up a bit, focus, write with more purpose.

We came up with a publishing schedule:

Mondays > time management
Tuesdays > procrastination/getting things done
Wednesdays > systems building / biz manual
Thursdays > a wrap up of the week’s lessons learned
Fridays > blast from the past (aka, reruns)

It seemed like a good idea at the time, but it killed the grooving. I lost my rhythm in strategery. The plan made me not want to write at all.

This is how it seems to work for me.  This is how I find out how much structure I need and what kind.  I have to go a little to far to find out what is just right, what is enough.

So, I’m back.

I still like the idea of the themes, but we’ll see… depends on how I get back into rhythm.

2 Responses to “Hello, Old Friend”


  1. 1 Kelly Parkinson March 9, 2009 at 9:17 am

    It makes me feel so much better to see someone like you struggling between too much structure and too little. I do this all the time. I’m beginning to realize this is a normal process and I’m always going to have to keep adjusting what I’m doing to make things work. There’s no such thing as a perfect system. For blogging, right now I just keep a big list of topics. Whenever it’s time to blog, I look at the big list and see which post feels like it’s ready to be written. Sometimes I end up combining two ideas into one post. By having them sit there on that list, I give them time to germinate, so when I’m ready to write, I feel like I’ve got a lot to say.

    • 2 Cairene March 9, 2009 at 1:55 pm

      @Kelly
      [smile] There doesn’t seem to be a way out of it. It’s an ongoing process of refinement. And just when things are humming along is the point at which I feel comfortable introducing something new and *wham!* suddenly everything needs adjusting all over again. Making peace with it as best I can…

      I do have to acknowledge that the stategery (please picture Will Ferrell as Bush when you read that) side of me was just trying to help the part of me that wasn’t doing so well with the list o’ topics thing (which sorta works, but another part of me was wanting it to feel less random). It’ll work itself out, I’m sure. Thanks for the encouragement.


Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

