You Never Know What Might Happen

Earlier today, my resident computer technician (aka my geeky sweetheart – I am so lucky) attempted to install more RAM in my aging computer so it might operate a little more nimbly (you know, processing Geritol).

No go. Not sure why. Reasons are unimportant to the story.

What is important is what happened next: upon restart with old RAM, monitor displayed completely wacky colors. We couldn’t decide for sure if it was the R or the G or the B that was missing – but whatever the combination was, it was sickly.

And that sort of thing makes one wonder what else is going wrong inside the box that holds your online business (nail biting moment there).

Thankfully, I still had my data and by the time I had backed everything up again (just to be sure, even though I already do it every day), the problem resolved itself.

Huh, we both said, scratching our heads while feeling grateful (shopping for a new computer is not something I want to be doing right now*).

I don’t pretend to understand how that was possible anymore than I understand how jets are able to fly. Computers, planes – it’s all voodoo. Yeah, I know the air above the wings is moving at a different speed than the air below the wings blah blah blah. Just because Bill Nye the Science Guy says it’s so doesn’t mean I really believe it.

Working theory: we kinda froze something with the canned air in the process of removing the astonishingly huge dust bunnies (what Gary Larson once referred to as Dust Rhinos) from the underside of the machine. When it warmed up – all was good again.

Anyway, my point is this: you never know what might happen next. This is your livelihood, so…

Back. Up. Your. Data.

This is one of those crucial bits of maintenance you can’t afford not to give your attention to.

*Geeky sweetheart really wants me to buy a new computer, so this whole thing began with me saying, “Don’t you dare drop it on purpose!” When things did go wrong, he was one surprised but conflicted man…

3 Responses to “You Never Know What Might Happen”


  1. 1 JoVE March 11, 2009 at 9:38 am

    The gap between knowing that and actually doing that is another one of those incomprehensible things though :-)

  2. 2 Cairene March 11, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    @JoVE

    Darlin’ [ahem] as long as you want to believe it’s incomprehensible, it will be ;)

    Trust me: you *can* make peace with maintenance like this.

  3. 3 charles faris March 29, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    back up your data onto a bootable disc better yet…says the guy with three copies of everything!


Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

