Lessons Learned #16 – But does your puzzle make a picture?

I mentioned yesterday there are a number of lessons I’m taking away from the recent weirdness. It was all waaaay too much for one post, so I’ll be sharing the rest over the next few days.

Starting with this one:

What you do at what time of day really does matter.

I know this. I teach this. I rave about Charlie’s heat mapping thing that helps you learn what that is for you.

But I didn’t really get it until now.

To say yes to something I really really wanted to say yes to, I had to rearrange my schedule.  I knew that shifting tasks I usually do in the morning to afternoon would make them a bit more challenging, but I completely underestimated just how much.

The work has been astonishingly slow and stupid. (If it happens at all.) There is no focus. There is no clarity. There is no flow. And I love flow.

As truly awesome as this yes has been, thank goodness it’s temporary so I can get back to doing things at their proper time of day.

Yes, your calendar is like a slider puzzle. You can rearrange your task-tiles however you like – but it still has to make a picture.

So, when Charlie reminds us: some types of your time are more valuable than others – now I really understand what he’s talking about.

Consider “time of day” added to my check list of yes/no decision making criteria.

2 Responses to “Lessons Learned #16 – But does your puzzle make a picture?”


  1. 1 Sheri May 3, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Thank you! That explains it! I have spent the last week rearranging my life’s work schedule and some of it has gone extremely well and some not so much…all because of the time of day thing!
    How did you get in my head so clearly and then make sense of it so clearly?! At any rate…brill.i.ant!


Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

