Lessons Learned #17 – Using a hammer when you need power tools

In Wednesday’s post I mentioned there are a number of lessons I’m taking away from the recent weirdness. It was too much for one post, but I think the leftovers are pretty tasty, so I’m sharing them in follow-up.

Assumption: I biggified and I couldn’t handle it.

As I often remind clients: be careful how you connect the dots.

I actually handled the biggification. (It wasn’t graceful, but still…)  But it would have been way easier had I given myself more space around the new and used better tools.

@Pistachio used the word “automagicness” on Twitter earlier this week. I am so stealing it. ‘Cause that’s what I want.

Automagicness here I come.

Had I automated more things…

First,
I wouldn’t have had to spend so much time on administrative minutiae. (Lordy, my systems didn’t scale!)

Second, and much more important:
When I did temporarily lose my mind to the doubt – stuff I wanted to happen would have been happening without me needing to nudge it along. Momentum would have been preserved despite my not having the oomph to keep things going.

It would have created space for me to deal with the doubt AND prevented some of the guilt/panic around things not getting done that kept feeding that doubt.

Using better tools would have created the very space I needed.

It would have been great.

Next project: incorporate more scalable automation into my systems.

3 Responses to “Lessons Learned #17 – Using a hammer when you need power tools”


  1. 1 JoVE May 1, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    Shit. I suspected as much. I guess I really have to find the time to figure out the systems thing before the event that I am hoping is going to bring me lots of new business, eh?

    I figured. I’ve already got Charlie G. lined up to help. And I put that not very adequate beginning of a biz manual in a binder…

  2. 2 Cairene May 1, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    @JoVE
    I know. It’s a bitch. Except it’s not. The one thing that makes setting up the automagicness sexy is remembering how sucky it was not having it.

    I’m sure Charlie will be fantabulous help.

    And, hey! don’t be knocking that binder of yours! A start’s a start. :)


  1. 1 This is me. This is my ego on stat crack. « How THW Gets In Gear Trackback on July 27, 2009 at 12:11 pm

Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

