Never on a Sunday

So, two weekends later, I’m still practicing unplugging from work and plugging into play and rest.

As mentioned last time, it’s tricky.

Here’s what I’ve learned so far.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, when you overwhelm yourself, you tend to overwhelm the people around you.

The Monday after my last post, I unexpectedly but very pleasantly and romantically received flowers out of the blue from my husband.  The card read, “Thank you for taking care of me over a fabulous weekend.” Now, I didn’t do any particularly unusual caretaking (from my perspective anyway), but I was present. Less distracted. And almost surely better company for being relaxed and in play mode. In taking care of myself I was taking care of someone I love. Imagine that.

The extras are worth it.

These I’ve continued to give myself – and not just on the weekend. Though small, they make a huge difference. Like going to the grocery store where I really wanted to shop. Quality seems to beget quality – and I’ve discovered an energy and momentum to it that I like a lot.

How you set it up matters.

What I do on Friday determines what I do Saturday and Sunday. It’s crucial to close the week in some way. And what I do Saturday morning matters even more. Those first few hours set the tone for the weekend. Pick the wrong thing and I fail to unplug. Going with my first inclination trips me up because my work-brain is still doing a lot of the driving. Until I get better at this, my play time needs to be approached with clear intent (and a few boundaries).

And it’s this last lesson that inspired me.

Taking back the weekend is a Bite the Candy kind of thing! Only upside down.

It’s not about finishing what we’ve put off, but finishing what needs finishing right now, this week, so we can take a time out without distraction or worry.

Because I’m pretty sure some of y’all reading this are in the same situation I am – wearing yourself out with devotion to your growing enterprise and not allowing yourself a breather until physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually exhausted – I invite you to take back the weekend along with me and join a special Bite the Candy series.

I’m calling it Never on a Sunday in honor of Lena Horne’s spectacular recording of the song of that same name:

For a whole lot of years, I worked seven nights a week, three or four shows a night and… I got a little tired. I think everybody deserves at least one day a week off – even this lady…

You can kiss me on a Monday, a Monday, a Monday is very very good.
You can kiss me on a Tuesday, a Tuesday, a Tuesday – in fact I wish you would.
You can kiss me on a Wednesday, a Thursday, a Friday, Saturday is best.
But never never on a Sunday, a Sunday, a Sunday ’cause that’s my day of rest…”

It starts soon. August 7. But what better time to take back the weekend?
I mean, it’s summer after all. It’s time to play.

I hope you’ll join me.

Learn all the details and register here.

3 Responses to “Never on a Sunday”


  1. 1 blisscovery July 14, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    I love this – thank you. I am so overwhelmed with excitement for the work I’m doing and building a business that it’s actually hard to make myself go to sleep at night and I’m so excited to hop back to it in the morning. I need the reminder that everything flows better when I’m cultivating delight in ALL areas of my life.

    And I love your example of shopping at the grocery store that makes you feel best – this is a huge treat for me, and love that someone else feels the same way. Thanks for sharing =)

    • 2 Cairene July 20, 2009 at 10:26 am

      @Briana
      First, I just want to say how much I love the word “blisscovery.” Love it. And that I have kindred spirit when it comes to grocery shopping. :)

      And I so dig you pointing out that even when we are motivated and excited about our work, we still need to pace ourselves. It’s not just a remedy to the negative, you know? It keeps the positive positive.

      Best to you in cultivating delight in all areas of your life!


  1. 1 A round up of intertube goodness. « How THW Gets In Gear Trackback on July 24, 2009 at 11:13 am

Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

