Ritual as Reminder

Yesterday, the ever delightful and inspiring Jamie Ridler (@starshyne on Twitter) tweeted this:

It’s Money Monday. This is the day of the week I check in with my money, do my budget, etc. It’s my weekly honouring abundance ritual.”

Now, I do my bookkeeping on Mondays too. But I do not have a weekly honouring abundance ritual.

And I want one.

I want morning rituals and evening rituals. Week-ending rituals, sabbath rituals, week-starting rituals. Lunch rituals. Dinner rituals. Housecleaning rituals. Bathing rituals. Seasonal rituals.

The first level of changing one’s relationship with time seems to be about learning to make choices – what you do, how, when – and finding ways to stay awake to your experience.

The second level of changing one’s relationship with time seems to be about deepening that mindfulness – as in: now that I’m doing what I want to be doing, I don’t want to just be awake to it, I want to get into it.

We are months away from winter when I truly crave ritual, yet something always tips sometime after summer solstice and there is already that spark of yearning for ceremony, for slower observation, for more stillness.

I am wanting spaces in which to be reminded.

The intriguing challenge before me? Learning ways to create that space.

8 Responses to “Ritual as Reminder”


  1. 1 randomling July 28, 2009 at 8:54 am

    Oh how interesting! I want rituals too! Because they are so cool and useful for reminding you to be in the place where you want to be.

    What a lovely post. I hope you keep us updated with what you decide on. :D

    • 2 Cairene July 28, 2009 at 9:08 am

      @randomling
      Thanks! I’m really into Waverly Fitzgerald‘s stuff right now – which relates to rituals – so the plan in my head is to share what comes from working through her material… we’ll see how it turns out and if/when it makes it onto the blog. ;-)

  2. 3 jamieridlerstudios July 28, 2009 at 9:20 am

    What a delicious post and a beautiful conversation. I’m a ritual lovebug too and a part of it for me is celebration, a deep celebration of life and of the moment.

    I’ll be excited to see what you create :)

    • 4 Cairene July 28, 2009 at 9:24 am

      @Jamie
      Celebration! That’s it. That’s what I was reaching for with “get into it.” Darling, you are no end of inspiration! Thank you again.

  3. 5 mellyhocking July 28, 2009 at 9:23 am

    i used to think rituals would make me a boring, predictable person (which is a huge fear of mine). now I love the thought of them.
    introducing some into my day has been fun and the process of finding ones that work for me, is exciting. Right now, I am trying a night time ritual as a way of moving into the next day (per the phone call we had last week). i find it comforting & a really good way to look at my next steps more proactive and not from a state of pushy and panicked.

    i’m eager to see where this journey takes you, cairene…

    Waverly Fitzgerald stuff is way cool. I like her thoughts about seasons. Intriguing.

    • 6 Cairene July 28, 2009 at 9:29 am

      @Melly
      I love that you’ve found a way to be grounded (which is not at all the same as being boring and predictable). Inspired by your example!

  4. 7 Hiro Boga July 28, 2009 at 9:43 am

    Cairene, thanks for this lovely reminder of “that spark of yearning for ceremony, for slower observation, for more stillness.”

    I seem to need stillness, ceremony, slow observation even more in the summer than in the winter. Maybe it helps balance these long, lovely, outward-leaning days. The bright ballooning of heat and sun.

    Morning and evening rituals in the summer remind me to open and close, rather than just open and keep on opening! :-)

    Love, Hiro

    • 8 Cairene July 28, 2009 at 10:23 am

      @Hiro
      First, I adore you and your writing – such beauty in just this little comment. Thank you for sharing it.

      A reminder to “open and close, rather than just open and keep on opening!” Well, that’s spring and summer isn’t it? Maybe that’s why I don’t think to do rituals in the first half of the year? I mean, I need them just as much, I’m just so caught up in opening I forget about them. Which just brings us back to wanting reminders… Hoping the rituals I’m inspired to create and practice in the second half of the year will continue to be used and serve me in the next first half…


Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

