Relaxing with dirt of all kinds.

It’s Monday and time to tell you about how I unplugged during the weekend.

I closed Friday by making a doodly little list acknowledging what did and did not get done – and then made a certain peace with the latter. Writing it all down helped me to see it was really a freakishly impossible amount (what was I thinking?) and could wait. Would wait. Because I oh-so needed a Time Out.

Plus, people are coming to our house! yay! There was preparing to do. Nothing cheers and motivates me like hospitality.

And even without guests? Oh my, had we let things go during the heat wave. A clean sweep was in order anyway.

So after our usual Saturday morning outing to the river beach (later than usual, because the poochaloo let us sleep in again – thank you Max), we cleaned. And cleaned. And cleaned.

I just want to pause for a moment to say how much I love my carpet cleaning machine. The truly horrific – yet impressive – amounts of dirt it pulls from our rugs gives me no end of satisfaction. A friend visiting our home once asked if I had changed something since she was last there – the curtains perhaps? – and the only thing different was I had cleaned the carpet. It’s that good. It’s as good as a great haircut.

And all that hospitality-inspired cleaning turned out to be cosmically timed, because we were able to host my parents for dinner – who, having just returned from a six-week road trip, came home to a seriously empty refrigerator. It was really nice to hang out on our back patio and dine al fresco while catching up on their adventures. Satisfying end to a satisfying day.

Having tackled the inside of the house on Saturday, Sunday was devoted to the outside. Let’s just say I filled two bins of yard-debris from the back yard while my beloved mowed the front yard. Only to find the underground wasp nest.

Oh the excitement! The stings. The where are they coming from? The discovery. The revenge. The concern of neighbors. The thank goodness an unsuspecting water bureau employee didn’t open the cap to the water main! The scientific fascination with the size of the nest.

Nature is fun.

I ended the weekend physically exhausted. But in a good way. I got completely out of my head. I didn’t even need index cards to capture random ideas. Because I really didn’t have more than a passing thought about work. I was too busy with dirt of all kinds.

And maybe that doesn’t sound relaxing, but it was. All that physical labor in service to a more clean and orderly environment was satisfying in itself, but also set my week up nicely. The prospect of desk work – writing and reading at the computer – is that much more appealing for being such a contrast to what I’ve spent the past two days doing.

Once again, it’s not just unplugging, but plugging into something else – something contrasting – that really recharges one’s batteries.

3 Responses to “Relaxing with dirt of all kinds.”


  1. 1 Liz August 3, 2009 at 10:54 am

    I’m totally with you on the power of a clean carpet. I have only a very powerful vacuum, but it does wonders to the look and feel of a room- especially if it’s been awhile! And it feels like my brain can work better too!

    • 2 Cairene August 18, 2009 at 11:23 am

      @Liz –
      I once read an interview with Thomas Lauderdale of Pink Martini in which he was asked what his favorite thing was. His vacuum. Why? Because no matter what else is going on, vacuuming always feels like a small victory. I think you and I would agree. :-) Cairene


  1. 1 Because 77 lentils deserve 77 more. « How THW Gets In Gear Trackback on November 27, 2009 at 11:12 am

Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

