Cleaning my computer closets.

My hard drive is nearly full again. Which makes my aging computer more than a bit pokey. Which is aggravating.

I mean, seriously, my computer is supposed to move more quickly than my fingers and my brain. What’s the point if it doesn’t?

I do okay with other forms of clutter. It’s visible and physically in the way, so it gets dealt with. Regularly. But the contents of this machine are dangerously out of sight and out of mind.

Yet the clutter collects in the same ways. Like dust bunnies. The magnetism of one stray thing attracts other stray items until I have a pile. A pile that almost looks purposeful. Except it’s not. Just like a virtual desktop of unrelated files.

Supposedly I’ve made peace with this sort of maintenance. In theory, I have a system for purging old files from my computer. But theory and practice have not been the same thing. And now I’m up against needing to do maintenance when other things need my immediate attention.

Sigh. I hate it when this happens. If only because I feel I should have learned the lesson by now.

I suppose I procrastinate about doing this because my system of purging is much too uptight. I set myself up to review every last little item and make a decision about whether or not to keep it and where. Oh, the agony over files that haven’t been accessed in years! I’d much rather clean out my closet.

Maybe I should apply the same rule: if you haven’t worn it in a year, out it goes. It’s quick and easy to do (with a little practice)… hmmm.

Game time: How many MBs can I purge in the next half hour?

Mark. Set. Go!

[ahem – you’re welcome to play along if you like.]

9 Responses to “Cleaning my computer closets.”


  1. 1 melly August 11, 2009 at 9:38 am

    i’m gonna play. i need to clean out my “computer closet”. I have an oldy but goody computer too. I love it! :)

    joining in~ yay!

  2. 2 Cairene August 11, 2009 at 10:42 am

    Okay – that was more like an hour. Although the second half of it was mostly spent searching for the big files. Because, even though I thought I was dumping the easy big stuff, my free space only increased from 5.53GB to 5.55GB. Nerts.

    How can I have nearly *15GB* of documents alone? (okay, silly question.)

    I’d love to report this project wasn’t such a big deal after all. But it would seem – as we so often discover during Bite the Candy – that part of my mind remembers that this *is* a big deal. It *is* time consuming.

    Maybe if I just keep chipping away at it for an hour a day… sigh.

    How’d it go for y’all?

    • 3 melly August 11, 2009 at 11:15 am

      i, like you, did some dumping and didn’t shed much. I have a bunch of audio books in my itunes & that accounts for a big bunch of space.

      any ideas on how to deal with that? :)

      it’s not hard for me to get rid of stuff although I will be honest occasionally i keep things because I don’t know if they are linked to other stuff! *lol*

      good decluttering time. thanks for the nudge, Cairene~

    • 4 Cairene August 18, 2009 at 9:56 am

      @Melly
      I know some people maintain separate external hard drives for big files like mp3s and photos (which they also back up in some way). Keeps your computer’s hard drive clean and can be a tidy solution. Thanks for playing along! -C

  3. 5 JoVE August 11, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    Good reminder. I should probably do this before things slow down a lot.

    But every time I do it, I remember that I actually have to empty the trash before I see the benefit.

    • 6 Cairene August 18, 2009 at 9:54 am

      @JoVE –
      Ha! Yes, you do have to let go. I just remind myself that it’s been backed up and I can (for awhile anyway) retrieve something I’ve mistakenly tossed when I bravely click “OK.” -C

  4. 7 Barbara Martin (@Reptitude) August 12, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    Maybe it needs defragmentizing? Actually it’s kinda fun to think if the thing is all filled up then it’s time to get a new one. Like buying new clothes when the current set gets dirty, or moving to a new place when the current needs a deep cleaning. Of course we wouldn’t do that, but it IS a fun idea. ;)

    • 8 Cairene August 18, 2009 at 9:52 am

      @Barbara –
      Ha! My husband would love that philosophy! He really thinks I should replace what I have and I’m all about making do (guess who’s the spender and saver in this relationship?). I did run a couple utilities which helped. And I’m still aiming for a major purge. It’d be as good for my psyche as the machine not to have to deal with all that old stuff. -C


  1. 1 Twitted by melhocking Trackback on August 11, 2009 at 9:46 am

Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

