Seven Lesson Round-Up

It’s Friday. Time for a round-up of the week’s Lessons Learned from my daily sheets.

I learned a three-legged dog can still have a grand time at the river – all that’s needed is a life vest for some extra buoyancy. There’s a bigger lesson in there somewhere. Expect to see that in a future blog post.

I learned I can still really irritate my dad by disagreeing before asking for more information. Make that: I learned I can be an irritating conversationalist. Close your mouth and open your ears, Cairene.

I learned –again– that it really is better to clean up as you go. I know it goes for meal preparation (raised that way), but it also goes for managing my classes – along with pretty much everything else. Kind of a der lesson – which makes it all the more worth noting. Boyohboy, is that system getting a special place in my biz manual. A nice little checklist of things to do each week during a course. Oof, never again do I want to be doing what I’m doing now all at once.

I was also reminded that when you’re done, be done and move on to the next thing. Make a clean break of it. Dithering is such a waste of time and energy. As in: stop clicking the refresh button already and get on with your work.

And too many communication tasks in a row make me glassy-eyed. It’s an introvert energy thing. I know this. I’ve since been vigilant about replying to email and comments and tweets in short bursts. Much better. It’s a variation on the clean-up-as-you-go rule.

I learned my material can stand up on its own without me to help it along all the time. That’s cool. There’s hope for ebooks yet.

I learned I’ve made a difference in people’s lives. That’s cooler. Much gratitude for that.

• • • • •

What have you learned this week?

• • • • •

2 Responses to “Seven Lesson Round-Up”


  1. 1 melly August 21, 2009 at 8:18 am

    I think an ebook by you is a VERY exciting idea, Cairene.

    My 7 lessons for this week:

    **I learned that I am a “spurt” tasker: I do things in these really weird and random spurts then i get pooped out. maybe i can learn a more balanced approach.

    **I stop hearing properly when I am criticized about my artsy projects. It happened this week. I have a very hard time “blowing it off”. – this one could be a bit of a cheat since I know I am sensitive but this week, I was aware & not just reactive.

    **LOVE to cook, it is my “yoga”. In fact, I invite anyone over who wants to come and eat some new dishes I am trying. :)

    **Plans can be fun. Having structure doesn’t have to be a snorefest (or make you one either!).

    **Coffee is mandatory in the morning. I like mine with cream & sugar (brit style)

    ** When i am excited about a new task I can work endlessly on it. Have to stop for meals though or my brain gets mushy!

    I like this friday tradition….

    • 2 Cairene August 21, 2009 at 10:39 am

      @melly –

      Thanks for joining in!

      It’s possible your “spurts” aren’t really as weird and random as you think they are (whatever they are, I’m sure they are OK). Maybe just notice them for awhile – they could tell you a lot about your attention span and energy for certain tasks. With that information, you could then pace yourself in a way that feels more balanced (or at least less weird and random – I think the concept of balance is tricky and overrated – you might think about whether that’s the quality you’re really aiming for here). Okay, end of unasked-for mini coaching session! ;)

      Criticism: Yay for awareness! Better than blowing it off.
      Cooking: Yay for cooking! I wish I could come over right now.
      Plans: Yay for structure! (did you think you’d ever write that?)
      Coffee: Yay yay yay! No day should start without it.
      Stopping: Yay! Even the good stuff needs a time-out or you’ll lose the excitement.

      Happy Friday!
      oxo C


Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

