Lessons Corporeal and Practical

It’s Friday. Time for a round-up of the week’s Lessons Learned from my daily sheets – in no particular order.

Early in the week, I had a little epiphany about finding more joy in being corporeal (aka: not neglecting my body in favor of my mind). It has to do with broadening and deepening my sensory experience – which is very shallow. I have multiple senses – taste, touch, sight, sound, smell – most of which share space in my head with my brain but get much less use. I expect I’d enjoy them more if I gave them more to delight in. And it’s not like my brain wouldn’t get anything out it.

As one’s clarity lessens, one’s pain returns. Applies to more than ouchie arms, I’m thinkin’. Whatever else you do, make sure you can still hear the feedback.

As Charlie says: commit or quit. Monday morning I tweeted, It’s not a doing sort of day. It just isn’t. Entertaining the idea of not only being okay with that, but letting myself *enjoy* it.” I should have done more than entertain the idea. I didn’t do much. And I didn’t NOT do much either. Very unsatisfying. And surprisingly tiring.

On a more practical, system-y note: somewhere in the annual scheme of things there needs to be a quarterly review of copy like my sig block, bio, confirmation notes. That stuff can get stale fast without you even noticing. And when you realize it, you feel like a dork. But you don’t always have time at that moment to do anything about it so you feel like a shmucky dork. It’s a feeling I would prefer to avoid.

Similarly, there are little notes about the timing of routine tasks and giving myself reminders for them and collecting all the info I need for classes in one place strewn throughout the week. It’s time to update the manual (isn’t it always?). Because stuff is falling through the cracks or just taking too darn long.

Lastly, remembering that Twitter is like bar, I’ve learned one drink is enough. It’s okay to be a regular, but not a lush. Which means not going nearly so far back in the stream and limiting my morning visit to, well, the mornings. Turns out too much tweeting leaves me too shnockered to do anything else very well. I’m goin’ on the wagon, people.

• • • • •

What have you learned this week?

• • • • •

3 Responses to “Lessons Corporeal and Practical”


  1. 1 Maribeth Doerr August 28, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Cairene – I can so identify with a “not doing sort of day” and that tug-of-war that ensues. So I give myself permission to not do much, and then I don’t really NOT do much. I spend the time thinking about it and “twiddling” and not really enjoying the time so it’s wasted all the way around. If I could just learn to give myself that permission and trust that I’ll get back to work the next day (because I don’t trust myself enough), a day off to recharge would end up benefitting everybody and everything. And yet . . . I do this guilt trip thang and blech!

    And yes, twitter is like a bar. Perfect analogy!

    Thanks for sharing your lessons!

  2. 2 melly August 28, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    My 7 lessons of the week:

    ** i really need to listen to MY voice. the one that knows what is best for me & how I can achieve some of those really cool projects i have in mind. not that being surrounded by awesome peeps is bad, no way, but it makes it harder to know what’s me and what’s them. ultimately while i think there are little nuggets people can offer or teach me, I have to find my own way.

    ** i get sleepy when i don’t stay slightly active somewhere in the day. that leads to not much happening.

    ** i like naming things, it brings a sense of play into the mix. my projects don’t seem so bland! it’s become a little ridiculous actually, I’ve begun to name the little stuff i have to get done too. (ie “wakey-wakey time for brekkie hour”, which is where i eat, have my coffee, listen to music, or read a book…)

    ** sharing your vulnerabilities is hard but rewarding & more peeps relate than you thought

    ** my heart feels good when i offer support to others when they need it.

    ** i like coming here & sharing what I learned it’s nice little cap to my week. Thanks Cairene! (not sure if I get to call it a lesson but it is important so it’s staying!) :)

    ** lastly, don’t feel bad if you didn’t get it ALL done, there are more days right around the corner…

  3. 3 Briana August 28, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    Gosh, commit or quit is such good advice. Because it’s so unsatisfying to take a day off and not feel rejuvenated and replenished. It’s like snacking on something you don’t really want to eat and never feeling nourished. Very good thing to notice, thanks for bringing it up.

    And I am right there with you on the idea that one drink of twitter is delightful, while several is a recipe for my own personal disaster. There can definitely be too much of a good thing!

    I’ve been reading a booked called “Open Focus Brain” that has some cool meditation type thingeys that help with opening all that sensory awareness stuff that you mentioned.

    Happy weekend ~ hope you FULLY enjoy it!


Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

