Absence Makes the Heart Grow Fond

Another installment in what is apparently an occasional series: how I unplugged over the weekend.

Occasional because I worked some portion of every day from September 7 to September 26. That’s 20 days in a row. That’s 20 days of me not being in alignment with my commitment to unplug on a regular basis. Which left me with nothing to report in the way of unplugging except that I wasn’t doing it.

At least I didn’t see it as normal. I recognized it as a choice. I made sure it was a temporary anomaly. But that didn’t really do much to make it less exhausting.

However, it did make yesterday’s play seem that much sweeter. A little time in the fresh air of the mountains with my sweetheart and my poochaloo. A little time to garden while the weather is still pleasant. Ahh. Was it all that I wanted? No. But it was really good.

And it was good without guilt or worry because I had hung on to a few new practices for the duration: I did my morning meditation, I got outside for walks with the dog, I closed the week on Fridays even though I wasn’t “finished” – and while I worked daily, I didn’t work crazy long hours each day. I put some things on hold, but I didn’t go to that panicked, driven place where I would have put everything on hold. I did little things to ground and pace myself along the way. Were they enough? No. But did they prevent disaster? Yes.

None of that would have happened six months ago. So, call it a lapse if you want, but I call it progress.

0 Responses to “Absence Makes the Heart Grow Fond”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Third Hand Works

from overwhelmed to ready for anything | organization and time management for people in their "right" minds | administrative guidance for independent creative professionals [more info]

Categories

Archives

© 2008 Cairene MacDonald, Third Hand Works. All Rights Reserved.

